Greetings From Alaska

I’ve been primarily offline the past few weeks – I came back to the US in mid-March and spent a very nice two weeks at home enjoying some quality time with my favorite people, consisting mostly of endless Easter egg hunts, Legos and delicious food. Now, after what felt like a never-ending string of flights, I’ve finally landed in my home for the next six months: Alaska.

IMG_3932
Sunrise over the mountains surrounding Anchorage during the world’s longest layover

Though it took almost as long to fly to my little ocean-side Alaskan town as it did to get all the way to Bangalore, it was so much more pleasant. Even as I am writing this, sitting in Anchorage airport, the check-in assistants are singing songs to passengers and I’ve seen at least five frequent fliers come in and greet the attendants by name and get received with a big hug. It’s not in an obnoxious way, either…just sweet. Everyone is so friendly! I really loved India, but it was definitely time for me to take a break and try something new – and I think Alaska will be just the thing.

As usual…I’ve done my research and I’ve come up with my Alaskan bucket list to complete over the course of the next 6 months. Other than eating as much seafood as possible, soaking up fresh air and enjoying the wildlife…there are a few things I don’t want to miss out on.

Drunken Moose – This one might not be possible since I’m coming in the summer…I might have to settle for seeing a sober one instead. I listened to a podcast recently which described how moose end up eating rotting crab apples to make it through the winter in cities around Alaska. The fermenting fruit has an intoxicating effect, meaning cities sometimes have 1,400 lb drunken beasts roaming the streets. I think the winter has been fairly mild, however, and it’s already April. I’m betting that the foliage that is already available is much more appealing than fermenting apples…but I’ll still be on the lookout.

Glaciers – There are few other reasons to venture out to the freezing tundras…but seeing some stunning glaciers which aren’t likely to be around for much longer is definitely one of them. You will find me riding a dogsled pulled by some adorable huskies and kayaking through glacier rivers…among whatever other activities intrigue me as well.

Climb Denali – Denali, the tallest peak in North America, is obviously on the list…as long as my knees cooperate. This year marks the 100-year anniversary of the US National Parks, so it seems only fitting to spend some time in Denali National Park and summit the 20,310 foot peak. Guess I better order those glucosamine chrondroitin supplements now!

Northern Lights – no Alaskan bucket list could be complete without seeing the Northern Lights! The strength of the lights depends on the year and the lights peak every 11 years. The last peak was in 2013…but there should still be plenty of solar storms and sunspots to fill the sky with colors and keep me entertained regardless!

Fly in a Float Plane – These are the small planes that fly low to the ground for amazing sight-seeing and can also land on water. They provide a totally different view of the wildlife and can land on the WATER! Sounds like something I need to do.

Know of other things I should try? Let me know!

 

 

12 thoughts on “Greetings From Alaska

  1. Robert says:

    Alaska? I hear it’s beautiful. When people visit Colorado, everyone comments on the natural beauty – unless they’re from Alaska.

    I’ve always wanted to see the northern lights! Snap a picture if you can!

    The only thing I can think of doing is figuring out what Walruses do underwater for most of their lives. Adam Sandler told me that’s a big mystery in “50 First Dates”.

    Like

      1. Robert says:

        You know – Lauren was just telling me that Colorado -> Alaska and back (or visa versa) is a pretty common trip. This Summer may be a great time to give it a try!

        Like

  2. shallwehike says:

    I’m also going to Alaska next year and have a very similar bucket list – it seems like an incredible place 😀 I look forward to reading more about your time there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

