New Year’s Challenges

The New Year is coming. I’m generally not too big on New Year’s Resolutions – I get enough “fresh starts” in my day to day life that I don’t need a specific day to motivate me to change. I’m a pretty competitive person, though, and I like any excuse for a challenge. So, I’ve decided I will create a few New Year’s Challenges – those, I can get behind. Here’s what I’ve decided on:

  1. A few friends have set up a running challenge – to run 300 miles in 2016 and be the first in the group to do so – I’m in! I’ve scheduled my half marathon for the end of January, so I’ll be off to a good start. I’m currently running about 15 miles a week, so even if I manage to stick to that for only half of the year, I should be good.
  2. Read 50 books in 2016. That’s about a book a week – doable, but challenging. I’ve been going a little crazy lately on Amazon buying books, and then they all sit on my shelf and collect dust. I basically am a book collector. I just purchased a Kindle, so I will have no shortage of reading material…but I am always open to suggestions as well! Bring it on.
  3. Become conversational in either Hindi or Kannada – I haven’t decided which. I’m not even worried about writing, but I should at least be able to speak. I hate not being able to communicate with people who don’t speak English. And everyone here speaks about 5 languages, so I need to step up my game (I’m only at 3).

Here’s to a successful (and victorious) 2016!

Leave a Reply

