The Anti-Facebook Effect

I’ve seen a lot of articles lately about the Facebook Effect. For those of you that haven’t heard of it, this is where people feel inadequate because they look on Facebook and only see the best moments of their friends’ lives – beautiful sunsets, fun parties, cute babies, beautiful weddings and tropical vacations take over the screen. People can feel like their life doesn’t measure up because real life isn’t just these happy moments, but it’s the good with the bad. No one posts pictures of sick kids, takeout food, traffic jams, arguments at home or stressful jobs.

I don’t post very much on Facebook, but I do post a bunch of pictures on here and pretty regularly on Instagram. Many people assume I am on a constant vacation. Not true…though I did quit my job last week and I am back to spending time with my dear old friend unemployment (I’m starting to get a complex…) Life here is still life. To balance out my pictures of palm trees, festivals, scenic treks and ancient palaces, here are ten reasons why you should not think that my life is better than yours just because of my cool photos.

  1. Sometimes the sewer overflows into the road when it rains – this is rainy season.
  2. When the sewers overflow, the roads flood. This makes already congested traffic become impossible. As I’ve mentioned before, I could walk the 7.5km to my old office in the same time it took to ride the bus in normal traffic
  3. Some type of parasite has decided to move in and make my stomach its home. I look six months pregnant.
  4. A lady at the grocery store asked me when I was due yesterday. I just made up a date instead of making everyone feel awkward and saying “Actually I have worms…” and then pretended like I was getting a phone call. Classic Cindy.
  5. It is not really socially acceptable for a girl to wear shorts unless you’re in a club, even if the weather gets up to 90F or 100F. Never, ever to work. This also goes for dresses or skirts without leggings underneath. So much sweat.
  6. I get scammed or overcharged at least once a day. Last Friday I got fined on the bus for sitting down before paying. The conductor told me to wait when I tried to pay him, then sent another guy over to fine me.
  7. I have yet to get internet at my house. I need a letter of residency signed by the police chief and Indian government to prove my address – to get a prepaid internet USB stick (dongle). This is in addition to copies of my passport, visa, and my photo. The bureaucracy here is ridiculous.
  8. Last week, some of my neighbors decided that the corner across the street from my house is a good spot to dump their trash. It’s starting to smell.
  9. The sidewalks are peppered with holes and loose tiles. Step in the wrong spot and fall down into the sewer. Don’t spend too much time looking down, though, there are also lots of obstacles you’ll need to look up to see – like tree branches, speeding motorcycles (yes, on the sidewalk) and loose wires hanging at eye level…
  10. This is definitely a first world problem…but my iPhone updated and needed me to log back into my Apple ID. Since my phone account is suspended, It can’t verify my phone number until I go back to the US…so no more iMessages or FaceTime for now 😦

Just to be clear, I love my life and I love living in Bangalore – I just wanted to show that it’s not all Instagram photos and vacations. Here is a photo to make you smile this morning. I found this pet store in HSR Layout. I think it might be the funniest English fail I’ve seen yet. It’s almost like this guy tried to make a double meaning. Why would you name a store Heavy Petting in the first place? I got a kick out of it.

IMG_2615

2 thoughts on “The Anti-Facebook Effect

  1. A Degree in English says:

    Hello – tell me more about this? are you ok?

    1. Some type of parasite has decided to move in and make my stomach its home. I look six months pregnant. 2. A lady at the grocery store asked me when I was due yesterday. I just made up a date instead of making everyone feel awkward and saying “Actually I have worms…” and then pretended like I was getting a phone call. Classic Cindy.​

    Best Regards, Kerri Ryan (413) 478-0593 LinkedIn

    Like

Leave a Reply

